Openly Admired: Noriko Ambe

 

I stumbled across Noriko Ambe during one of my internet image-gorging rampages. Her work is a confluence of things I love: Paper, precision cutting, satisfying reference to the real world without trying to remake it. Selected Works: Noriko Ambe

Selected Works: Noriko Ambe.

Selected Works: Noriko Ambe

Selected Works: Noriko Ambe

Naturally, I have selected the ones that most resonate for me, and you might go to her site and see something completely other as more interesting, or not at all interesting. Whatever it is that speaks to me about paper, cut paper, paper edges … might mean nothing at all to your esthetic cortex. There is a certain viscerality here, Ambe frequently creates spaces between, and although the paper and the cuts and edges tend to dominate, all the action is really in those between-spaces. Even knowing there is a perfectly matched edge somewhere for every edge you can see, it is still necessary to think about what kind of thing would fill the void created by the separation.

Tell me everything, darling!